Prep football: Oregon's Robert Prahl to join Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame

2014-07-17T18:00:00Z Prep football: Oregon's Robert Prahl to join Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of FameART KABELOWSKY | Wisconsin State Journal

Longtime Oregon High School football coach Robert Prahl will be among six former head coaches inducted into the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame as part of its class of 2015.

Prahl spent 27 years as the Panthers' head coach after serving six years as an assistant. The 1973 Delavan-Darien graduate and standout player at the University of Wisconsin-Stout announced his retirement in January 2010.

His teams went 128-126 over those years, producing four University of Wisconsin players: Mike Statz, Dan Kissling (now the Panthers' head coach), Jacob Ninneman and Derek Schaefer.

Prahl was twice named Badger Conference Coach of the Year and twice named WFCA District Coach of the Year. He was a WFCA member for 35 years and served as a district representative for eight years.

Other head coaches being honored:

• Dieter Antoni of Onalaska: Served 19 years as head coach and 12 years as an assistant.

• William Ehnerd of Wrightstown: Served 13 years as head coach and six years as assistant; won six conference championships and two state championships.

• Donald Scharbarth of Lakeland: Served 19 years as head coach and six years as assistant; won four conference championships and won 113 games as head coach.

• Michael Sexton of Hortonville: Served 24 years as a head coach and 12 as an assistant; won one WFCA State Assistant Coach of the Year award; won more than 100 games and one conference championship.

• William Vander Veldon of Winneconne: Served 23 years as a head coach and 13 as an assistant; won 100-plus games and two conference championships.

Four high school assistant coaches also will be inducted: Leonard Apple of Kenosha Tremper; Robert Domenosky of Muskego; Greg Jahnke of Manitowoc Roncalli and Jonathan Lehman of Milwaukee Washington and Brookfield East.

Honored as a combination head coach and assistant coach was Mike Ryback of Pewaukee, Muskego and Mukwonago, with a combined 42 years of coaching experience.

Inducted in the collegiate coaching ranks was Brian Borland of UW-Whitewater, a Fort Atkinson native who has served 20 years as an assistant coach and contributed to 11 conference championships, five national championships and three national runner-up finishes with the Warhawks.

Two state coaches were inducted into the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame: Keith Hensler of Mukwonago and Ken Biegel of Wisconsin Rapids.

Earning the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award was Travis Wilson of

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

We provide a valuable forum for readers to exchange ideas and opinions on posted articles. But there are rules: Don't promote products or services, impersonate other site users, register multiple accounts, threaten or harass others, post vulgar, abusive, obscene or sexually oriented language. Don't post content that defames or degrades anyone. Don't repost copyrighted material; link to it. In other words, stick to the topic and play nice. Report abuses by clicking the button. Users who break the rules will be banned from commenting. We no longer issue warnings.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Summit Prepzone Sponsorship Tile

Follow your school

All conferences and teams

All schedules by sport


News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
Mount Horeb
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
Sauk Prairie
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page


Fort Atkinson
News | Fan Page
Madison Edgewood
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
Monona Grove
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page
News | Fan Page

Featured businesses



Who is your favorite quarterback in Packers history?

View Results