Campus Connection: Special task force to study UW System finalized

2011-10-10T14:13:00Z 2012-05-22T17:54:43Z Campus Connection: Special task force to study UW System finalizedTODD FINKELMEYER | The Capital Times |

The roster for the state-appointed "Special Task Force on UW Restructuring and Operational Flexibilities" is finally set.

Gov. Scott Walker announced his two appointments on Monday, completing the 17-member panel. One of Walker's selections was Darrell Bazzell, UW-Madison's vice chancellor for administration. Bazzell is the only person currently working on the UW-Madison campus on the panel. Walker's other appointment went to Dave Olien, senior vice president emeritus of the UW System.

When the Legislature's budget writing committee killed a plan to break UW-Madison away from the UW System back in June, it decided to call for the creation of this task force. The 2011-13 state budget grants a range of new freedoms from state oversight to UW System schools. Among other things, this body is expected to examine whether UW campuses should be extended even more flexibilities from state red tape in the future. The task force also likely will consider whether breaking UW-Madison away from the system makes sense down the road.

This 17-member body includes: six appointees each from the speaker and majority leader; two from the governor; one from the minority leader of each house; and one jointly appointed by the co-chairs of the Joint Finance Committee -- Rep. Robin Vos, R-Rochester, and Sen. Alberta Darling, R-River Hills -- to serve as chair. Vos and Darling picked UW System Board of Regents member Michael Falbo for this lead position.

Here is the rest of the roster:

Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald, R-Juneau, named: Joanne Brandes, Carroll University Board of Directors member and a former UW Regent; Ray Cross, chancellor of UW Colleges and UW-Extension; Sen. Sheila Harsdorf, R-River Falls; Renee Ramirez, former chair of UW Alumni Association; Dennis Shields, UW-Platteville chancellor; Mark Tyler, president of the Wisconsin Technical College System Board

Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald, R-Horicon, appointed: Joe Alexander, a former UW student regent; Tim Higgins, small business owner; Fred Mohs, a former UW Regent and Madison businessman; Rep. Steve Nass, R-Town of La Grange; Rep. Pat Strachota, R-West Bend; Richard Wells, UW-Oshkosh chancellor.

Assembly Minority Leader Peter Barca, D-Kenosha, appointed Rep. Steve Doyle, D-Onalaska, to the task force.

The office of Senate Minority Leader Mark Miller, D-Monona, reported to the Cap Times last week that it appointed Sen. Chris Larson, D-Milwaukee, to the panel.

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Get daily Cap Times alerts


First Name:

Last Name:

What's hot



Will you be attending any Madison Mallards games this summer?

View Results