MC Lyte scholarship winners announced at Soul Train Awards

2012-11-28T23:45:00Z MC Lyte scholarship winners announced at Soul Train AwardsThe Daily Cardinal
November 28, 2012 11:45 pm  • 

Distinguished hip-hop artist MC Lyte announced Sunday at the Soul Train Awards the winners of two four-year, full-tuition scholarships to the University of Wisconsin-Madison through the First Wave/MC Lyte scholarship.

The 2012 recipients are Miona Short from Chicago and Hiwot Adilow from Philadelphia. MC Lyte and the First Wave Hip Hop and Learning Arts Community at UW-Madison created the scholarship in fall 2012.

Numerous students from around the nation applied for the scholarship, according to a statement released by the university. Students were required to apply to UW-Madison first and following their acceptance, were allowed to submit artistic samples for the scholarship.

Both winners are spoken word artists and will attend the university beginning fall 2013 under scholarship guidelines.

In addition to the two scholarship winners, 13 additional students will join to form the seventh cohort for First Wave in 2013.

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Connect With The Daily Cardinal


Read us in print

Email Newsletter

Date of birth:


Subscribe to the print edition
of the Daily Cardinal!

Featured businesses