President Franklin D. Roosevelt - Tennessee Valley Bill

President Franklin D. Roosevelt signs the Norris-Hill Bill to develop the Tennessee Valley, May 18, 1933. From left: Sen. Ellison D. Smith of South Carolina; Rep. John J. McSwain of South Carolina; Sen. Kenneth D. McKellar of Tennessee; Rep. Samuel Davis McReynolds of Tennessee; Reps. Miles C. Allgood, William Bacon Oliver and Lister Hill, all of Alabama; Sen. George William Norris of Nebraska; and looking over his shoulder is Rep. Edward B. Almon, whose district is Muscle Shoals. (AP Photo)

Like this story? Get our best of the week sent to your inbox