Madison Sports Hall of Fame: Final Four coaches Bo Ryan, Kelly Sheffield to receive Madison Sportsman Award

2014-05-24T03:45:00Z Madison Sports Hall of Fame: Final Four coaches Bo Ryan, Kelly Sheffield to receive Madison Sportsman AwardROB HERNANDEZ, 608-252-6173

They shared the distinction of coaching their University of Wisconsin teams to the NCAA Final Four in their sports.

And now Badgers men's basketball coach Bo Ryan and volleyball coach Kelly Sheffield will share the honor of being named the Zimbrick Honda Madison Sportsman of the Year. They will receive their awards June 11 at the Madison Sports Hall of Fame Club Hall of Fame banquet at Monona Terrace.

Ryan coached the Badgers to only the third Final Four men's basketball appearance in school history, where they lost to Kentucky in the national semifinals in Dallas. Sheffield, in his first season on the job, coached the volleyball team to its second Final Four appearance in school history as the Badgers reached the national championship game before losing to Penn State.

Madison La Follette senior Nicole Newman will receive the Strand Associates Madison Sportswoman of the Year Award. The Drake softball recruit is a standout pitcher who earned Wisconsin State Journal area player of the year and the Gatorade state player of the year in 2013. The 6-foot-2 Newman was also a standout for the Lancers in basketball.

The Flad Development and Investment Area Sportsperson of the Year Award will go to Sun Prairie baseball coach Rob Hamilton. Hamilton has led the Cardinals to four consecutive Big Eight Conference titles and last spring his team won its second consecutive WIAA Division 1 state title and fourth crown in the last nine years.

Longtime high school basketball official and Badgers basketball timer Gordy Bass will receive the Edgewood College Friend of Sport Award. For 40 years, he has been the official timer for UW basketball and WIAA boys and girls state tournament games. Bass was also a longtime basketball official for high school and college games.

The Madison Area Sports Commission/Pat Richter Favorite Sibling Award will go to Madison West senior Olin Hacker. He comes from a family of accomplished runners who have won numerous WIAA state titles and kept up that tradition by winning the WIAA Division 1 state cross country title. He was named Gatorade state boys runner of the year and the Wisconsin Cross Country Coaches Association Division 1 male runner of the year while maintaining a 4.0 grade-point average.

The Madison Sports Hall of Fame Club will also recognize several Special Achievement Award Winners. They are:

• Kelly Lagman, the Madison Edgewood boys tennis coach whose team won the WIAA Division 2 state title for the first time.

• Joel Marshall, the Verona boys hockey coach whose team won the WIAA state hockey title for the first time.

• Toby Parker, the Madison College Women’s volleyball coach whose team won its first NJCAA Division III national title

• Gary Thornton, the Madison Edgewood girls cross country coach whose team won its first WIAA Division 2 state title.

• Jeff Sauer, who coached the USA Para Olympic Sled Hockey coach whose team won the Olympic Gold Medal.

• Derek Scheer, the Madison Edgewood boys swimming coach whoes team won the WIAA Division 2 state title for the first time.

The Madison Sports Hall of Fame Club also is presenting the Otto Breitenbach Division III Scholarship to Woo Jeon, a Madison West senior, and Mary Catherine Ottelien, a Madison East senior. The award goes to a Madison high school senior who will compete in sports at a Division III college or university.

Stephen Bennett, Duane Kleven, Bill Maselter and Larry Pedracine will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

We provide a valuable forum for readers to exchange ideas and opinions on posted articles. But there are rules: Don't promote products or services, impersonate other site users, register multiple accounts, threaten or harass others, post vulgar, abusive, obscene or sexually oriented language. Don't post content that defames or degrades anyone. Don't repost copyrighted material; link to it. In other words, stick to the topic and play nice. Report abuses by clicking the button. Users who break the rules will be banned from commenting. We no longer issue warnings.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Associated Press rankings

You might like to buy



Who is your favorite quarterback in Packers history?

View Results
Daily sports email alerts

Don't miss a moment of local high school athletics.

Don't miss a moment of UW athletics.