Taylor Hakala photo

Milton's Taylor Hakala tees off on the 10th hole during the WIAA state girls golf championship on Monday, October 12, 2015 at University Ridge Golf Course in Madison, Wisconsin


With a new home and a new sponsor, the Balance & Believe Invitational will bring 20 girls golf teams from the Madison area and state to Blackhawk Country Club for a shotgun start at noon Wednesday.

The event was most recently known as the Morgan Stanley Shootout and held at University Ridge Golf Course.

According to Madison Edgewood coach Peggy Gierhart, before that it had been known as the Suby Invitational. When it was first conceived by Madison Memorial and Don Marx in 1992, it was known as the Madison Metro Shootout.

Gierhart and former Milton coach Andrea Wieland ran the event at University Ridge, but after this year, the organizational duties will go back to Madison Memorial, Gierhart said.

Gierhart said the boys version of the Morgan Stanley Shootout, held in the spring, will continue to be played at University Ridge.

Teams in the field are: Bay Port, Franklin, Green Bay Notre Dame, Janesville Parker, Jefferson, Madison East, Madison Edgewood, Madison Memorial, Madison West, Milton, Monona Grove, Oregon, Portage, Racine Prairie, Stoughton, Sun Prairie, Verona, Watertown and Waunakee.

Action will begin in shotgun format at noon, with individual and team awards sessions to follow the round. Tee times follow:



At Blackhawk Country Club, Madison


(Shotgun start at noon)

Hole No. 1 (A group) — Mia Seeman, Milton; Country Matschke, Franklin; Payton Hodson, Middleton.

No. 1 (B group) — Taylor Hakala, Milton; Mallory Swartz, Franklin; Kate Meier, Middleton.

No. 2 A — Lizzie White, Monona Grove; TBA, Janesville Parker; Sydney Grimm, Waunakee.

No. 2 B — Josie Knoeck, Monona Grove; TBA, Janesville Parker; Elena Maier, Waunakee.

No. 3 A — Taylor Knudtson, Monona Grove; TBA, Janesville Parker; Brooke Ehle, Waunakee.

No. 3 B — Akeeli Noyce, Monona Grove; TBA, Janesville Parker; Aly Kinzel, Waunakee.

No. 4 A — Signe Nettum, Madison West; Sam McKee, Oregon; Ashley Nelson, Stoughton.

No. 4 B — Klaire O'Reilly-Dye, Monona Grove; TBA, Janesville Parker; Sam Soulier, Waunakee.

No. 5 A — Alyssa Schmidt, Oregon; Abby Peterson, Madison West; Renee Anderson, Stoughton.

No. 6 A — Sydney McKee, Oregon; Ashley Fleming, Madison West; Bre Viken, Stoughton.

No. 7 A — Andi McCorkle, Oregon; Lillian Knetter, Madison West; Caylie Kotlowski, Stoughton.

No. 7 B — Ally Payne, Oregon; Margo Bush, Madison West; Myranda Kotlowski, Stoughton.

No. 8 A — Bre Deblare, Jefferson; Emily Eitel, Racine Prairie; Bridget McCarthy, Madison Memorial.

No. 8 B — Megan Gleisner, Jefferson; Caroline Royer, Madison Edgewood; Brianna Johnson, Madison Memorial.

No. 9 A — Courtney Draeger, Jefferson; Alison Chambers, Racine Prairie; TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame.

No. 10 A — Alexa Owen, Jefferson; Kate Munro, Racine Prairie; Jo Baranczyk, Bay Port.

No. 10 B — Hailey Hotter, Jefferson; Annie Munro, Racine Prairie; TBA, Franklin.

No. 11 A — Corinna Smith, Madison Edgewood; TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame; Caitlyn Ott, Verona.

No. 11 B — Grace Jaeger, Madison Edgewood; TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame; Alexis Gaillard, Verona.

No. 12 A — Caitlyn Hegenbarth, Madison Edgewood; TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame; Courtney Shorter, Verona.

No. 12 B — TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame; Anaka Leske, Madison Edgewood; Claire Swain, Verona.

No. 13 A — Lauren Harshbarger, Watertown; Rachel Hepler, Portage; TBA, Sun Prairie.

No. 13 B — Grace Welch, Madison Edgewood; TBA, Green Bay Notre Dame; Lauren Shorter, Verona.

No. 14 A — Hannah Thompson, Watertown; MacKenzie Roth, Portage; Jenna Behrens, Sun Prairie.

No. 14 B — Nia Fredrich, Watertown; McKayla McTier, Portage; Olivia Oehrlein, Sun Prairie.

No. 15 A — Micah Yaeggi, Watertown; Anna Davidson, Portage; Sydney O'Hearn, Sun Prairie.

No. 16 A — Kristin Stair, Watertown; Sophie Denure, Portage; Morgan Jambard, Sun Prairie.

No. 17 A — Holly Gunnink, Milton; Melanie Peck, Franklin; Allison Richards, Middleton.

No. 17 B — Callie Hakala, Milton; Madeline Susedik, Franklin; Danielle Callahan, Middleton.

No. 18 A — Claudia Seeman, Milton; Grace Pugh, Franklin; Grace Peterson, Middleton.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.