Subscribe for 33¢ / day
2018-02-06-Sun Prairie East 3-02062018212124

Sun Prairie's Jayda Jansen guards East's Erin Howard in the first half. Sun Prairie High School hosted Madison East in Big Eight girls basketball Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2018. STEVE APPS, STATE JOURNAL


Madison East senior wing Erin Howard was named the player of the year for girls basketball in the Big Eight Conference, according to the all-conference team announced Tuesday.

Madison La Follette’s Will Green was selected as Big Eight coach of the year and Madison Memorial sophomore forward Leilani Kapinus was named defensive player of the year.

Howard and Kapinus were on the first team, which also included Madison East senior guard Justice Filip, Janesville Parker junior forward Julia Hartwig and Sun Prairie senior guard Jayda Jansen.

The second team included Verona senior guard Chandler Bainbridge, Madison West senior forward Kate Carlson, Madison La Follette junior point guard Kaytlin Eder, Janesville Craig sophomore guard Cassie Goswick, Sun Prairie junior guard Grace Hilber and Beloit Memorial senior guard Aniah Williams.

The third team included Middleton senior guard Haley Dunn, Sun Prairie junior guard Elle Moore, Janesville Craig junior guard Emily Pierson and Madison La Follette sophomore forward Nyen Riak.

Honorable-mention recognition went to Verona sophomore guard Rayna Briggs, Madison Memorial sophomore guard Daiysha Brown, Sun Prairie senior guard Carly Coulthart and Middleton sophomore forward Sitori Tanin.


Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.