The Madison West football team swept the top honors on the Madison Shrine Club’s All-City team at the 79th annual banquet Tuesday night at the Madison Masonic Center.

Madison West’s Jaden Stephens was named the 2017 outstanding back, Alex Okelue was selected as the outstanding lineman and Brad Murphy was chosen as coach of the year.

Murphy also was coach of the year in 2016. 

The Regents finished third in the Big Eight Conference with a 7-2 record and currently are 8-2 after defeating Sussex Hamilton 21-9 in a WIAA Division 1 first-round playoff game last Friday. Madison West will play at Middleton in the second round this Friday.

Keishawn Shanklin of Madison West and Jack McNeil of Madison Edgewood were the quarterbacks selected. Stephens and Madison La Follette’s Jacob Hendrix were the offensive backs.

The Madison Shrine Club played host to the football teams from Madison East, Madison Edgewood, Madison La Follette, Madison Memorial and Madison West at the banquet.

There was a correction to the team, reported Friday. Madison Memorial's Jason Ceniti should have been listed as a defensive end rather than a defensive back. 



Offensive linemen: Jacob Paquin, Madison East; Will Foht, Madison Edgewood; Andre Dyslin, Madison La Follette; Ross Mathews, Madison Memorial; Alex Okelue, Madison West; Patrick Horvath, Madison West.

Receivers: Thomas Hartlieb, Madison Edgewood; Elliott Grays, Madison Memorial; Anthony West, Madison La Follette.

Tight end: Mike Cerniglia, Madison Memorial.

Offensive backs: Jacob Hendrix, Madison La Follette; Jaden Stephens, Madison West.

Quarterbacks: Keishawn Shanklin, Madison West; Jack McNeil, Madison Edgewood.


Defensive linemen: Nicolas Perez, Madison East; Mark Luebke, Madison Edgewood; Javon Enochs, Madison West; Armoni Warfield, Madison West; Jason Ceniti, Madison Memorial (defensive end). 

Linebackers: Charles Dean, Madison East; Kalevi Breckterfield, Madison Edgewood; Gavin Parr, Madison La Follette; Kayvion James-Ragland, Madison La Follette; Ty Mathews, Madison Memorial; Jeremiah Jordan, Madison Memorial; David Maravilla, Madison West.

Defensive backs: Nate Seward, Madison La Follette. 

Kicker: Kacper Lupe, Madison West.


Outstanding back: Jaden Stephens, Madison West.

Outstanding lineman: Alex Okelue, Madison West.

Coach of the year: Brad Murphy, Madison West.

Wayne “Knobby” Kelliher spirit of the game award: Zach Hanser, Madison East; McKinley Palmer, Madison Edgewood; William Paulson, Madison La Follette; Will Liegel, Madison Memorial; Johnny Gutknecht, Madison West.


Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.