The Beloit Memorial co-op girls hockey team achieved a first with Thursday night’s 6-0 victory over the Middleton co-op at the Madison Ice Arena.

With the victory, the Rock County Fury (17-2-2 overall, 9-0-0 Badger Conference) clinched the first conference championship in program history.

Maggy Henschler and Anika Einbeck each scored two goals for the Fury against the Metro Lynx (6-11-0, 4-4-0).

Black River Falls co-op 2, Sun Prairie co-op 1

The visiting Tigers (9-6-1) pulled out a non-conference win over the Cap City Cougars (12-6-1).

Onalaska co-op 6, Mauston co-op 3

The Badger Lightning (0-14-0) trailed 4-0 after one period against the host Hilltoppers (9-10-1) before getting goals from Bergen Brandt, Bailey Babcock and Ellie Goethel in the loss.

Boys hockey

Reedsburg co-op 10, Tomah 3

Dylan Brown scored four goals and Derek Pawlek had a hat trick to lead the Beavers (14-5-1) past the host Timberwolves (4-15-1).

McFarland 2, Beaver Dam 2

Neither team scored in the third period or overtime, so the contest between the Golden Beavers (8-11-1) and host Spartans (9-9-2) ended in a tie. Jack McGinn and Tyson Laux scored for McFarland. Sam Vanderhoeven and Brock Brendemihl scored for Beaver Dam.

Sauk Prairie co-op 4, DeForest co-op 1

Riley Jelinek netted two goals as the Eagles (11-3-1, 4-3-1 Badger North) took down the host Norskies (3-15, 0-8). Ben Rashid scored a goal for DeForest. Dayne Leonard had a goal and two assists for Sauk Prairie. Lance Bauernhuber added a goal and an assist for the Eagles.


Madison Memorial 128.55, Madison West 126.125

Natalie Donkle won the all-around (34.950 points) after taking first in vaulting (9.0), uneven bars (8.525) and floor exercise (8.975) in a Big Eight dual at Memorial. West’s Elena Igic won on the balance beam (8.55).

Middleton 135.65, Janesville Parker 103.325

Chloe Young won the all-around (34.975 points), taking first on uneven bars (8.575) and balance beam (9.4), to lead the Cardinals past the host Vikings in a Big Eight dual. Middleton’s Jordan Baggot won floor exercise (9.25) and vaulting (8.65).


Sauk Prairie 51, Beaver Dam/Wayland 18

Six Eagles earned pins to help the team top the visiting Golden Beavers in a Badger North Conference dual meet. Dawson Enge (106) and Dylan Herbrand (126) each recorded a pin in under a minute for Sauk Prairie.

Lodi 54, Sun Prairie 21

The host Blue Devils won the non-conference dual, winning 10 of the 14 matches, seven by pin.

The Blue Devils got pin victories from Mason Marchand at 106, Jacob Harland at 120, Jaedon Heintz at 126, Branden Errthum at 132, Max Barreau at 170, Nathan Beechey at 182 and Jacob Heyroth at 195.

River Valley 51, Dodgeville 30

The fifth-ranked Blackhawks defeated the host Dodgers in a Southwest Wisconsin Conference dual .

River Valley’s pair of No. 1-ranked individuals, Shane Liegel (170) and Zach Licht (138), each earned pins.

Beloit Turner 60, Lake Mills 14

Jack Sagaitis (132), Nate Draeving (145) and Trey Griinke (182) recorded pins as the host Trojans earned a non-conference victory over the L-Cats. Ben Kalata (138) secured a pin for Lake Mills.

Wisconsin Dells 72, Westfield 6

Eight Chiefs earned pin victories to defeat the host Pioneers in a South Central Conference dual meet.

Evansville/Albany 41, Monroe 26

Nicholas Barmore (106) and Adam Staver (138) each earned pin victories to help the visiting Blue Devils defeat the Cheesemakers in a non-conference dual meet.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.