The Madison West gymnastics team edged Waterford for the White Division team championship at Saturday’s Spartan Invitational at Madison Memorial.

The Regents won with a score of 127.600 points, with Waterford in second with 127.275 points.

Madison East/La Follette senior Tyra Turner won the all-around (36.375), taking first in vaulting (9.475) and floor exercise (9.35).

Regents junior Lucia Durst was sixth in all-around (32.075).

In the Green Division, the Franklin co-op won with 147.025 points, with Middleton third at 134.6 and Sun Prairie fourth at 133.250.

Sun Prairie senior Allayah Lane took eighth in the all-around (34.875) after tying for first in floor exercise (9.45 points). Middleton junior Jordan Baggot was ninth in all-around (34.575).

Boys swimming

Middleton Public Invitational

State top-ranked Madison West earned a decisive victory, breaking three pool records and winning seven of the 11 swimming events.

The Regents totaled 434 points, beating out Lincolnshire (Ill.) Stevenson’s total of 399. Madison Memorial was third and Middleton fourth, both more than 100 points behind West.

Regents junior Wes Jekel broke pool records in the 200-yard individual medley (1 minute, 53.19 seconds) and 100 backstroke (50.45 seconds).

Jekel also led off West’s winning 200 medley relay (1:35.69), joined by juniors Henry Miller and Constantin Bensch and sophomore Charlie Feller, and the winning 400 freestyle relay (3:10.69), which set a meet record with Bensch, sophomore Isaac Casey and senior Lain Weaver.

Weaver set a pool record in the 100 butterfly (:49.79) and won the 200 freestyle (1:42.49, a meet record). Miller won the 100 breaststroke for West (:58.72).

State Small School Invitational

Monona Grove, winner of the past three WIAA Division 2 state team championships and four of the past five, dominated the field with 307 points in the unofficial State Small School Invitational at Plymouth. Madison Edgewood took second with 215.5 points, and Baraboo was fourth.

The Silver Eagles won six of 11 events, including two relays, and had two triple champions.

Ben McDade won the 200-yard freestyle (1:41.66) and the 500 free (4:33.15), and anchored the winning 400 free relay (3:17.69) with senior Jacob Lippiatt, junior Josh Douberly and senior Shane Sackett.

Senior Eric Storms won the 100 butterfly (:50.80) and 100 backstroke (:52.83), and led off the winning 200 medley relay (1:38.94) with Douberly, senior Bronz Geissler and Sackett.

Madison Edgewood sophomore Truman teDuits won the 100 freestyle (47.80 seconds). and took second in the 200 individual medley (1:56.66).

Battle on the Rock

Sun Prairie swam to the championship of the seven-team meet hosted by Beloit Memorial, scoring 533 points to runner-up Sauk Prairie’s 460. Beloit was third with 397 points.

Cardinals sophomore Cade Roggenbauer won the 50 freestyle (:22.56) and 100 free (:49.64), and freshman James Werwie won the 500 freestyle (5:08.34).

Sauk Prairie swept all three relay races and won seven events overall. Junior Desmon Sachtjen won the 100 butterfly (:53.76) and 100 backstroke (:53.83) and swam on the winning 200 medley relay (1:39.26) and 400 freestyle relay (3:18.23).

Also for Sauk, senior Ayden Frey won the 200 individual medley (2:06.97) and swam on two winning relays, and senior Allan Brickl won the 100 breaststroke (1:02.99) and swam on one relay.

Racine Park Invitational

Janesville Parker finished fifth in the 10-team field, behind champion Elkhorn. Parker senior Garrett Leach took second in the 100 backstroke (:59.47).

Boys hockey

Waunakee 4, Oregon 3

Junior forward Mason Ihrke scored the go-ahead goal at 5:25 of the third period and the Warriors (10-10-1) beat the Panthers (14-5-1) in the third-place game of the Ground Hog Tournament.

Sophomore Colton Eyers netted a goal and had an assist for Oregon. Senior Tyson Rohrer tied the contest at 3-3 in the second period for the Panthers.

Senior Jeremy Werner scored two unassisted goals and added an assist for Waunakee.

Madison Memorial 2, Wales Kettle Moraine co-op 1

Brandon Schaeffer scored the go-ahead goal 36 seconds into the third period and the Spartans (10-8-2) made it pay off, taking down the Lasers (13-7) in the fifth-place game of the Ground Hog Tournament. Cole Warren netted a goal for the Lakers. Jackson Welsh also scored for Memorial.

Monona Grove 6, DeForest 5 (OT)

It took an extra period and another goal from Matthew Priebusch to decide the seventh place game of the Ground Hog Tournament as the Silver Eagles (6-12-1) defeated the Norskies (3-17-0) in overtime.

Priebusch finished with two goals and an assist and Brady Gerothanas scored a hat trick for Monona Grove.

Trent Bachman scored a hat trick for DeForest.

Verona 6, Stevens Point 5

Brockton Baker scored four goals and had an assist as the host Wildcats (15-3-2) defeated the Panthers (19-3-0).

Eli Hass scored two goals and Trent Metz had two assists for Stevens Point.

Put other boys hockey games below the three Ground Hog games

Girls hockey

Sun Prairie co-op 1, Viroqua co-op 0

Brynna Banuelos scored the only goal of the game early in the third period, and the Cougars (13-6-1, 5-2-0) held on to beat the host Blackhawks (8-10-0, 3-5-0).

Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam 12, Medford 0

Dayna Jones, Maike Zipp, Cassie Stephany and Alyssa Heim netted two goals apiece as the 10th-ranked Warbirds (14-5) beat the Raiders (0-16) in the Beaver Dam Tournament.

Rachel Bolin had a goal and an assist for the Warbirds.


Wisconsin Dells Invitational

Behind three weight-class championships and one second-place finish, the Wisconsin Dells wrestlers took second in their own 12-team invitational, scoring 175 points to finish behind champion Grand Meadow/LeRoy-Ostrander/Kingsland, Minnesota.

Gabe Kingsley won at 126 pounds for the Chiefs, Gavin Kingsley won at 132 and Hunter Stenson won at 170. Travis Hudack finished second at 182, falling to Hillsboro’s Jacob Urban in the final.

Watertown got a first place from Nick Logan at 138 and a runner-up finish from Christian Rojano at 160. The Belleville co-op’s Daniel Enloe finished second at 285.

Deerfield Scramble

Three Jefferson wrestlers earned weight-class titles to lead the Eagles to a sixth-place finish in the 18-team tournament. Kewaunee won the title.

Jefferson junior Quintin Gehrmann (34-2 overall) beat Deerfield senior Zach Wilfong, 16-4, in the final at 113. At 138, Eagles sophomore Dean Neff topped Lake Mills senior Ben Kalata, 7-2. At 160, senior Jake Neff earned a 10-2 victory over senior Jacob Hendrix of Madison La Follette.

Stoughton senior Will Neuenfeld won the title at 195, helping a group of Vikings reserves earn a fifth-place team finish.

Hustisford Invitational

Fort Atkinson crowned three individual champions and totaled 206 points to beat out runner-up Johnson Creek’s 190 atop the 14-team field.

Winning for the Blackhawks were Nolan Kraus at 126 pounds, Nino Roscioli at 145 and Thomas Witkins. Johnson Creek also had three champions: Anthony Purpi at 152, Lukas David at 182 and Seth Roberts at 285.

Oakfield Invitational

The Sun Prairie varsity reserves claimed seven of the 14 weight-class titles and scored 313.5 points to win the 11-team tournament.

Winning for the Cardinals were Juan Jimenez at 120, Dominick Stroede at 132, Andrew Shanahan at 138, Karson Sutton at 152, David Prell at 160, Mason Smith at 220 and Julien Walker at 285.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.