Maggy Henschler scored a power play goal, her 12th of the season and state-best 24th point of the year, to lead the Beloit Memorial co-op girls hockey team to a 2-1 victory over the Sun Prairie co-op in a battle for the Badger Conference lead Tuesday night.

The Rock County Fury (4-0-0, 8-1-2) remain two points ahead of the Cap City Cougars (6-2-1, 2-1-0). Viroqua (4-2-0, 2-0-0) also remains two points off the pace.

Boys hockey

Baraboo/Portage 9, DeForest co-op 0

Mike Wech netted four goals and added two assists as the visiting Thunderbirds (5-4, 2-1 Badger North) pulled away from the Norskies (1-5, 0-3).

Campbell Koseor had two goals and an assist for Baraboo/Portage.

Verona 7, Janesville co-op 3

Jack Keryluk and Walker Haessig each scored two goals as the host Wildcats (7-2-1, 6-1) beat the Bluebirds (0-8, 0-5). Kyle Ward scored a first period goal on an assist from Kyler Kobs for Janesville in the defeat.

Sun Prairie 7, Hartland Arrowhead 4

After being down 4-2 with 8:30 to play, the host Cardinals (7-1-0) scored five unanswered goals to beat the Warhawks (4-5-1). Benett Halbleib scored two goals and tallied an assist for Sun Prairie. Tyler Trivett scored a goal and had an assist for Hartland Arrowhead.

Waunakee 1, Sauk Prairie co-op 1

Dayne Leonard scored the game-tying goal with 1:05 left in the third period as the host Eagles (7-1-1, 1-1-1) tied the Warriors (3-5-1, 1-1-1). Nathan Watts scored a second period goal on an assist from Camden Desroches for Waunakee.

Reedsburg co-op 7, Beaver Dam co-op 6

Dylan Brown scored the game-winning goal in overtime as the Beavers (5-4-0, 2-1-0) beat the host Golden Beavers (4-4-0, 2-1-0).

Sam VanderHoeven scored four goals, including three in less than three minutes during the second period, for Beaver Dam.


Baraboo 48, Mount Horeb 17

Brandon Jesse (120), Max Statz (2:59), Carlos Chavez (152) and Jacob Kimpfbeck (195) all pinned their opponents as the visiting Thunderbirds defeated the Vikings in a Badger North Conference dual.

Milton 53, Fort Atkinson 21

Lucas Jessie (138), Vince Digennaro (170), Killian Jauch (182) and Kameron Vanatta (195) each recorded pin victories to lead the host Red Hawks past the Blackhawks in a Badger South Conference dual.

Evansville/Albany 69, Monona Grove/McFarland 10

Matt Kostroun (138), Tyler Aasen (170), Collin Roberts (195) and Branden Lange (285) each recorded pin victories to power the host Blue Devils over the Silver Eagles.

Boys swimming

Burlington co-op 125, Jefferson/Cambridge 42

Bailey Bleser won the 50- and 100-yard freestyle races and was a member of the winning 200 medley and 400 freestyle relay teams as the host Demons topped the Eagles. Clayton Thorp won the 200 freestyle to earn the lone victory for Jefferson/Cambridge.

Sauk Prairie co-op 100, Verona 70

Desmon Sachtjen won the 200- and 500-yard freestyle races and was a member of the winning 400 freestyle relay to help the host Eagles defeat the Wildcats.

Shane Rozeboom won the 50 and 100 freestyle races for Verona.


Mount Horeb 136.65, Southwestern co-op 119.075

Senior Krista Taylor won the all-around competition (34.625 points), along with the floor exercise (9.15) and balance beam (9.35), to lead the host Vikings past the Wildcats.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.