Earning victories in eight of 10 events, the Madison West boys swimming team topped the rest of the nine-team field in Saturday’s Janesville Parker Relays.

Eight West swimmers competed on three winning relay teams to help the Regents total 308 points, finishing ahead of runner-up Middleton (272) and third-place Beloit Memorial (206).

The Regents’ triple winners were Victor Bulat, Isaac Casey, Charlie Feller, Wes Jekel, Henry Miller, Gus Nordmeyer, Jaden Weiss and Max Weygandt. Ethan Dong, Andrew Fernandez, Matthew Fernandez and Lain Weaver each swam on two winning relays.

Middleton won two relays, with Michael Draves and Nate Lamers swimming on both first-place crews.

Blackhawk Invitational

The Sun Prairie boys swimming team didn’t win any individual events, but earned two first places and one second in the three relay races and parlayed that into the team title in the nine-team meet at Fort Atkinson.

Sun Prairie totaled 453 points to finish ahead of runner-up Verona/Mount Horeb (409). McFarland took third with 243 points, and Baraboo was fourth with 235.

Seniors Andy Paulson and Case Geidl swam on both winning relay teams for Sun Prairie, and Paulson also swam on the second-place 400 freestyle relay crew.

Verona/Mount Horeb junior Shane Rozeboom won the 50 freestyle (:22.21) and 100 free (:49.43) and swam on the winning 400 freestyle relay (3:26.90).

Baraboo sophomore Aidan Lohr won the 200 individual medley (2:03.36) and 100 backstroke (:54.87). McFarland senior Alex Slane won the 100 breaststroke (1:04.22), and DeForest junior Jacob Burgener won the 100 butterfly (:57.29).

Elkhorn Invitational

Waunakee finished third among an eight-team field, scoring 272 points to trail champion Greenfield/Greendale (485) and runner-up Elkhorn (450).

Waunakee senior Emory Lietz won the 100-meter backstroke (1:03.71) and took second in the 50 freestyle (:26.30). He also led off the fourth-place 200 medley relay (2:01.26) and anchored the third-place 400 freestyle relay (3:52.72).


Wisconsin Dells Duals

The Stoughton wrestling team suffered its first loss of the season, a 31-28 decision against Stratford as part of pool play in the 25-team Dells Duals tournament at the Chula Vista Dome in Wisconsin Dells.

The Vikings rebounded from that pool-play defeat to beat Slinger, Melrose-Mindoro/Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau and Freedom in pool play for a 3-1 finish.

Going 4-0 on the day for Stoughton were Hunter Lewis at 120 pounds, Braeden Whitehead at 126, Tyler Dow and Luke Geister-Jones at 170 and 182; and Aodan Marshall at 285.

Waunakee Invitational

Holmen scored 479.5 points to win the 16-team tournament, with the host Warriors taking second, Milton third and Watertown fourth.

Waunakee’s Alan Olkowski scored a pin in the final at 285 pounds, and five other Warriors earned runner-up finishes.

Milton’s Mason Dutcher pinned Waunakee’s Nick Schweitzer to win the 113-pound division.

For Watertown, Edward Wilkowski won at 120, Nick Logan won at 138 and Stephen Maule won at 195.

Raider Scramble

Evansville/Albany won seven weight classes and totaled 210 points to win the eight-team tournament at New Glarus. Monroe was second and Dodgeville third.

Winning weight classes for the Blue Devils were Jared Miller at 113, Evan Senter at 120, Austin Schofield at 126, Adam Staver at 132, Ben Barmore at 138, Nolan Kicmol at 145 and Branden Lange at 285.

For Monroe, Sam Kind won at 170 and Dempzy Foley won at 182.

Whitewater Invitational

Janesville Craig crowned three individual champions and added a runner-up finish to finish on top of the 12-team field with 254 points. Kenosha Bradford took second with 224.5 points.

Winning for Craig were Nate Ellis at 138 pounds, Ethan Smith at 145 and Keeanu Benton at 285.

Schoen Memorial Duals

Fort Atkinson went 2-3 on the day in the nine-team tournament at Cedarburg. Nolan Kraus won five matches by pin at 132 pounds for the Blackhawks, and Draven Sigmund recorded three pins at 138 pounds.

Viking Invitational

Lakeside Lutheran finished sixth among nine teams at Fond du Lac Winnebago Lutheran, as Cole Lauersdorf won the title at 182 pounds and Austin Meyer took second at 220.

Boys hockey

Madison West 5, Sun Prairie 1

Senior forward Colin Pulkrabek scored twice and added two assists as the visiting Regents (3-2-1, 3-0-0) defeated the previously unbeaten Cardinals (5-1-0, 4-1-0) in a Big Eight conference game.

West scored the first three goals of the game until Kaden Brunson of Sun Prairie scored to make it 3-1 in favor of West to start the third period.

The Regents answered back scoring the final two goals including one from Pulkrabek. Drake Baldwin also finished with a goal and three assists for West.

Verona 5, Middleton 1

Brockton Baker scored a goal and tallied an assist to help the Wildcats (3-2-1, 2-1-0) defeat the visiting Cardinals (5-4-0, 2-2-0).

Jack Keryluk tallied two assists and Mack Keryluk added a goal for Verona.

Cade Armstrong scored Middleton’s lone goal.

Girls hockey

Sun Prairie co-op 2, Green Bay East co-op 1

Colleen Milligan scored had an assist and scored the game-winning goal with 24 seconds left in regulation to lead the Cap City Cougars (4-1-1) over the Bay Area Ice Bears (3-2-3).

Brynna Banuelos also scored a goal for Sun Prairie.

Margo Thousand and Zephryn Jager each had an assist for the Cougars.

Schofield D.C. Everest co-op 4, Middleton co-op 3

Eden Gruber scored two goals in the first period to help the Central Wisconsin Storm (3-3-0) top the Metro Lynx (2-5-0).

Vivian Hacker scored one goal for Middleton. Ally Conybear scored the other two goals for the Lynx, including one late in the third period, but the Lynx could not deliver the equalizer.

Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam 6, Cedarburg co-op 4

Tied at 4 in the third, Alyssa Heim scored three goals to propel the host Warbirds (7-0-0 overall, 1-0-0 Eastern Shores) over the Lakeshore Lightning (1-7-0, 0-6-0).

Hattie Verstegen scored a goal and made three assists for Fond du Lac.

Anna Gontarski, who scored in the first period, tallied two more goals in the second to tie the game for Cedarburg.


Janesville Craig Invitational

Mount Horeb, the third-place finisher in last year’s WIAA Division 2 state meet, outpaced the eight-team field as Krista Taylor won the all-around and floor exercise and Grace O’Neil took third in all-around.

Taylor won floor exercise with a score of 9.15 points and took second on balance beam (8.7), uneven bars (8.325) and vaulting (8.6) to win all-around with 34.775 points. O’Neil scored 33.45 in all-around.

Milton’s Ashley Thompson won vaulting (8.625) and balance beam (8.9) and took second in all-around (34.775). Milton’s Kayla Gonsiorowski won on uneven bars (8.8).

Monona Grove took third, Janesville Craig fourth and Madison Memorial fifth in the team chase.

Oconomowoc Invitational

Hartland Arrowhead won the invitational with a score of 139.05, narrowly edging second-place Sun Prairie (134.45) and third-place Watertown (130.775).

Junior Alexis Woida of Arrowhead took first on the beam, uneven bars and vaulting, leading her to a victory in the all-around (37.12).

Senior Allayah Lane of Sun Prairie won the floor exercise (9.525 points).


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.