Marlon Ruffin

Sun Prairie's Marlon Ruffin, who scored 29 points, drives to the basket past Craig's Adam Anhold and Jacob Ngobi (22) in a boys Big Eight Conference basketball game Thursday night in Sun Prairie.


The expectation of inclement weather and icy driving conditions Thursday evening prompted many schools to close early, and even more to call off their Thursday schedule of sports events.

Here is a list of known postponements, as reported to the State Journal via email, Twitter and/or postings on official conference scheduling web sites. Rescheduling dates are listed if reported by the host school.

Also listed is the remaining schedule of area events — as of 3 p.m. Thursday, only five remain on the schedule, all being played in Madison or Sun Prairie.

Some of these events also could be postponed as the day progresses; please check school and/or conference web sites and Twitter feeds for updates.



Lake Mills at Lakeside Lutheran, rescheduled to 2:30 p.m. Saturday and relocated to Lake Mills (Note: Feb. 2 game, Lakeside Lutheran at Lake Mills, now will be played at Lakeside Lutheran).

Wisconsin Heights at New Glarus, rescheduled to 5:30 p.m. Saturday

Beloit Memorial at Madison Memorial, rescheduled to Jan. 20

Juda at Barneveld, rescheduled to Jan. 22

Lodi at Watertown Luther Prep, 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 27

Palmyra-Eagle at Madison Abundant Life, rescheduled for Feb. 5

Cambridge at Belleville, rescheduled to Feb. 10 and relocated to Cambridge (Note: Jan. 30 game, Belleville at Cambridge, now will be played at Belleville).

Columbus at Poynette, rescheduled to Feb. 19

Deerfield at Madison Country Day, no rescheduling date set

Green Lake/Princeton at Pardeeville, no rescheduling date set

Janesville Craig at Verona, no rescheduling date set

Johnson Creek at Orfordville Parkview, no rescheduling date set

Madison West at Janesville Parker, no rescheduling date set

Marshall at Waterloo, no rescheduling date set

Mineral Point at Iowa-Grant, no rescheduling date set


Brodhead at Walworth Big Foot, rescheduled to 7:15 p.m. Friday

Whitewater at Jefferson, rescheduled to 7:15 p.m. Friday

McFarland at East Troy, no rescheduling date set


Stoughton at Lodi, rescheduled to Jan. 23

Horicon at Deerfield, no rescheduling date set

Johnson Creek at Palmyra-Eagle, no rescheduling date set

Monroe at Monona Grove/McFarland, no rescheduling date set

River Valley at Platteville/Belmont, no rescheduling date set

Wisconsin Dells at Mauston, no rescheduling date set

Capitol South Quad (Belleville/New Glarus, Cambridge, Marshall, Waterloo) at Marshall, canceled

Pecatonica at Lake Mills, canceled


Sauk Prairie at DeForest co-op, rescheduled to Jan. 25

Waunakee at Reedsburg co-op, rescheduled for 7 p.m. Feb. 6 at Reedsburg Community Ice Arena

Baraboo/Portage at Beaver Dam, no rescheduling date set

Janesville co-op at Sun Prairie, no rescheduling date set


Sun Prairie co-op at Middleton co-op, no rescheduling date set

Viroqua vs. Mauston co-op, no rescheduling date set


Jefferson/Cambridge at DeForest, no rescheduling date set

Whitewater at Milton, no rescheduling date set


Waunakee at Reedsburg, will be made up as a double dual between Sauk Prairie, Reedsburg and Waunakee at Waunakee on Jan. 16

Janesville Parker at Verona/Madison Edgewood, rescheduled to Jan. 30

Baraboo at Sauk Prairie, postponed, no rescheduling date set

Sun Prairie at Janesville Craig, no rescheduling date set

Watertown at Milton, no rescheduling date set


(As shown on official conference scheduling web sites as of 3 p.m. Thursday)


Big Eight Conference

Madison La Follette at Sun Prairie, 7:30 p.m.

Middleton at Madison East, 7:30 p.m.


Badger South Conference

Monona Grove vs. Madison Edgewood at LaBahn Arena, 7 p.m.

Big Eight Conference

Madison Memorial vs. Madison La Follette/East at Hartmeyer Ice Arena, 8 p.m.


Big Eight Conference

Middleton at Madison Memorial, 6 p.m.



Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.