Will Green

Madison La Follette coach Will Green was announced as one of the final 15 coaches in U.S. Cellular’s “Most Valuable Coach” program, according to a release from the organization.

Through Nov. 14, people are able to vote for their favorite coach at TheMostValuableCoach.com, which will be part of how the winner is decided.

The winning coach will receive a $50,000 donation to the charitable organization of their choosing or to their high school athletic department and a trip to Orlando, Florida, for on-field recognition at the Under Armour High School All-America Game.

U.S. Cellular plans to host events to honor each of the 15 finalists, will create and post a video about each coach on TheMostValuableCoach.com, and will award each school of the 15 finalists with $5,000.

Green will be celebrated by his friends, peers and students at a pep rally at 4 p.m. Tuesday (Oct. 24) at La Follette's Field House. During the pep rally, Green will be presented with the $5,000 check for being nominated into the top 15. Those in attendance will be encouraged to continue voting for Green in hopes of him becoming the Most Valuable Coach and winning $50,000 for the athletic department or a charity of his choosing.

 “U.S. Cellular congratulates all of the Final 15 coaches, including Will Green of LaFollette High School,” said John Meimsch, director of sales in Wisconsin. “The coaches share our passion and dedication for serving our local communities which is evident by their community’s overwhelming support for them. We look forward to celebrating their work beyond the game and in their communities.”

U.S. Cellular’s Most Valuable Coach program began Aug. 22 and gave people the opportunity to honor high school coaches who lead by example, strengthen their teams and give back to their communities.

Green coaches girls basketball at La Follette. 

The 15 finalists include five coaches from Wisconsin, including three from the area -- Green, Portage’s Carrianne Engelhart, Milton’s Pat Jauch, Holmen's Travis Kowalski and Southwestern High School’s Karen Wiederholt.

The finalists list includes:

1. Luis Ayala, Foxcroft Academy, Dover-Foxcroft, Maine

2. Andrew Bowers, Duncan High School, Duncan, Okla.

3. Dillon Cooper, Wewoka High School, Wewoka, Okla.

4. James Danala, Mount Abram Regional High School, Salem Township, Maine

5. Davis Eidahl, Pekin Community High School, Packwood, Iowa

6. Carrianne Engelhart, Portage High School, Portage, Wis.

7. Will Green, LaFollette High School, Madison, Wis.

8. Ryan Groom, North Mahaska Community School District, New Sharon, Iowa

9. Pat Jauch, Milton High School, Milton, Wis.

10. Travis Kowalski, Holmen High School, Holmen, Wis.

11. August Manz, Thomas Jefferson High School, Council Bluffs, Iowa

12. Mike McGraw, Lewiston High School, Lewiston, Maine

13. John Olson, Gladbrook-Reinbeck Community School, Reinbeck, Iowa

14. Mike Papoccia, Newman Central Catholic High School, Sterling, Ill.

15. Karen Wiederholt, Southwestern Wisconsin High School, Hazel Green, Wis.

A panel of judges, including Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Kurt Warner, will help to determine the Most Valuable Coach.

Along with the online public voting, which will count as 20 percent of the final score, the judging panel will evaluate the coaches based on their leadership qualities and the positive impact they have had on their community, school and players. The winning coach will be announced Nov. 20.