The Madison Memorial boys swimming team took on a couple of giants on Saturday, and came out on top.

Coach Paul Eckerle’s Spartans, the six-time defending WIAA Division 1 state champions, defeated fourth-ranked Hartland Arrowhead and Glenbrook South of Glenview, Illinois, in a triangular meet at Arrowhead.

Memorial, currently ranked third in the state, earned its fourth victory in the final event, the 400-yard freestyle relay, to total 160 points. Arrowhead scored 143 and Glenbrook South, ranked fifth in Illinois, scored 126.

Also winning individual events for the Spartans were Sam Smith (diving), Drake Horton (200 freestyle) and Alex Wowk.

Hillmen Invitational

Led by three first-place finishes, the Sauk Prairie boys totaled 455 points to win a nine-team meet in Platteville. Beloit Memorial took third and Madison Edgewood was fourth.

Sauk Prairie’s Desmon Sachtjen won the 200 freestyle in 1:49.22, Ayden Frey won the 100 butterfly in 54.20 seconds, and both joined Reese Drager and Jake Guentherman to win the 200 freestyle relay (1:31.90).

Edgewood’s Truman teDuits won the 100 breaststroke (1:02.34) and 200 individual medley (2:05.77), and Philip Fochios won the 50 freestyle (:22.42) and 100 backstroke (:54.47). The two joined Daniel Johnstone and Nate Frucht to win the 200 medley relay (1:43.58).


Southwestern Invitational

Mount Horeb scored 138.7 points to top Dodgeville/Mineral Point’s score of 133.5 atop the six-team White Division of the meet, hosted by the Southwestern co-op.

The Vikings’ Krista Taylor scored 35.525 points to win the all-around, followed by Southwestern’s Kelsie Goffinet. Taylor also won vaulting (9.0), balance beam (9.4) and floor exercise (9.4). Dodgeville/Mineral Point’s Tessa Bockhop won on uneven bars (8.8).

The Mukwonago co-op scored 140.15 points to win the five-team Blue Division, and Middleton took third with 135.525 points. The Cardinals’ Madeline Pflasterer-Jennerjohn won on balance beam and took fifth on floor exercise (9.1 points).

Warhawk Invitational

Sun Prairie junior Allayah Lane finished third in the all-around, scoring 34.6 points, to lead the Cardinals to fifth place in the eight-team event at Hartland Arrowhead. The Kenosha co-op won with 140.175 points; Sun Prairie scored 135.55. Lane also took second in floor exercise (9.45).

Boys hockey

Verona 5, Madison Memorial 2

Jacob Keyes scored the game’s first two goals and Braeden Schindler, Jack Anderson and Graham Sticha added scores to carry the Big Eight Conference-leading Wildcats (10-10, 9-2 Big Eight) past the host Spartans (8-9, 4-7).

Memorial got goals from Colin Supple and Brandon Schaeffer. Verona scored three shorthanded goals.

Madison West 5, Madison La Follette/East 0

The Regents (10-6-0, 6-2-0 Big Eight) moved into a tie with Sun Prairie for second place in the conference points race with a victory over the visiting Lakers (1-14-0, 0-11-0).

Onalaska 5, Waunakee 1

Jacob Werlein opened the scoring for the visiting Warriors (8-8-0), but Jacob Dirks netted a hat trick to help the Hilltoppers (12-3) pull away.

La Crosse Aquinas co-op 6, Oregon 2

Tyler Damon scored the first of his two goals to open the scoring for the host Panthers (13-3-1), but the Avalanche (8-6-0) answered with five consecutive goals to take control.

Schofield D.C. Everest 3, Sun Prairie 0

The host Evergreens (11-5-0) scored three times in the second period to hold off the Cardinals (10-6-0). Benett Halbleib and Conor Mikula scored for Sun Prairie.

Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells 4, Tomah 0

The Cheavers (10-6-0) cruised past the Timberwolves (5-12-0) in a non-conference game at Reedsburg Area Community Arena.

Girls hockey

Middleton co-op 5, Hartland Arrowhead 0

The ninth-ranked Metro Lynx (11-1-4) picked up a shutout road victory in non-conference play, blanking the Warhawks (6-12-0) behind goals from five different players.

Julia Dragoo, Kara Epping and Ally Conybear scored first-period goals to send the Metro Lynx on their way. Gwen Parker made nine saves in goal.

Appleton United 3, Beloit Memorial co-op 0

Annika Horman scored all three of her team’s goals as the host United (9-7-2) shut out the 10th-ranked Rock County Fury (9-6-1) in non-conference play.

Sun Prairie co-op 2, Onalaska co-op 1

The Cap City Cougars (11-3-4) edged the Hilltoppers (8-9-0) in non-conference play.

Brookfield co-op 5, Baraboo co-op 2

The Glacier (5-11-0) got two goals from Hadley Malcolmson to beat the Badger Lightning in a non-conference game at Pierce Park in Baraboo (2-11-0).

Paige Pawlak and Sarah Christensen scored for the Badger Lightning.


Zelinski Memorial Duals

Stoughton beat Waunakee 46-22 in the decisive match and went 5-0 to win the 16-team, all-duals tournament at Hales Corners Whitnall.

The Vikings had six unbeaten wrestlers: Hunter Lewis at 113, Kaleb Louis at 132, Brandon Klein at 138, Cade Spilde at 145, Garrett Model at 152 and Tyler Dow at 170.

Waunakee finished second, led by unbeatens Ty Miller at 120 and 126 and Nate Lorenz at 160 and 170.

Terry Kramer Open

Sauk Prairie scored 422.5 points and got individual titles from Zeke Smith at 106, Dylan Herbrand at 113 and Drew Fjoser at 145 to win the 16-team tournament in Fort Atkinson.

Lodi scored 412.5 points for second place, led by Jacob Heyroth at 170 pounds and Casey Persike at 182. Sun Prairie’s Drew Scharenbrock won at 138, and Evansville/Albany got individual titles from Chase Katzenmeyer at 126 and Lucius Rinehart at 220.

Bernie Kane Invitational

Madison La Follette finished fourth among seven teams in the tournament at Madison East. Oconomowoc beat Wilmot in the final.

La Follette’s Francesco Schiro went 5-0 at 120 pounds, and Salvatore Schiro went 5-0 at 170. Madison West’s Robert Cooper was 5-0 and 120 and 126 pounds, and East’s D’Angelo Allen (182) and Henry Lemkuil (22) went 5-0.

Bob Lueders Invitational

Milton, the only Wisconsin representative in an otherwise all-Iowa field, took sixth among 22 teams in the meet in Clinton, Iowa. Billy Pitzner finished second at 182 pounds for the Red Hawks, who added three third-place finishes.

Monroe Invitational

The host Cheesemakers scored 190 points to win the 12-team tournament. Cole Murray won the individual title at 138 pounds, Travis Wolf won at 145 and Sam Kind won at 160.

For fourth-place Poynette, Josh Prey won at 152 pounds and Joey Cibulka won at 170. Also, Beloit Memorial’s Daren Taber won at 106 and Lake Mills’ Andrew Quackenbush won at 220.

Blackshirt Invitational

Wisconsin Dells took second and Jefferson third in the 13-team tournament at Waukesha South. Milwaukee Marquette earned the team title.

The Chiefs’ Gabe Kingsley won the 120-pound title, Langston Brown won at 182 and Travis Hudack won at 195. Deerfield senior Cal Hansen improved to 29-0 after winning the title at 138. Jefferson’s Dean Neff won at 132.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.