Thomas Robson photo

Middleton's Thomas Robson (1) receives a serve from Mukwonago in the first set of a WIAA boys volleyball sectional final at Middleton High School on Nov. 3, 2016.


The Big Eight Conference regular-season champion Middleton boys volleyball team earned a No. 1 seeding in its own sectional, according to pairings released Wednesday by the WIAA.

Middleton earned a bye in the regional final and will open tournament play on Tuesday, Oct. 31, against either fourth-seeded Madison Memorial or fifth-seeded Waukesha South. Those teams meet at 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27 in one of five regional finals involving area teams.

Also in the Middleton sectional on Oct. 27, No. 6 Fort Atkinson/Cambridge will play at No. 3 Burlington, and No. 7 Beloit Memorial will travel to No. 2 Mukwonago.

Wales Kettle Moraine drew the top seeding in its sectional and won’t have to play in a regional final on Friday, Oct. 27.

Other Oct. 27 regional finals in the Kettle Moraine sectional sends No. 5 Madison La Follette to No. 4 Waukesha West, and No. 6 Madison East to No. 3 Madison West.

After the sectional semifinals on Tuesday, Oct. 31, sectional finals are set for 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 2. The state tournament will take place Friday and Saturday, Nov. 10-11, at Wisconsin Lutheran College in Wauwatosa.

The Big Eight Conference teams will get a chance to warm up for the postseason by competing in the conference tournament on Saturday at Madison East.



(Seedings in parentheses)

(All matches 7 p.m.)

Middeleton sectional

(1) Middleton bye

(5) Waukesha South at (4) Madison Memorial

(6) Fort Atkinson/Cambridge at (3) Burlington

(7) Beloit Memorial at (2) Burlington

Wales Kettle Moraine sectional

(1) Wales Kettle Moraine bye

(5) Madison La Follette at (4) Waukesha West

(6) Madison East at (3) Madison West

(7) Waukesha North at (2) Waukesha Catholic Memorial


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.