The Sun Prairie wrestling team earned its way to a familiar prize on Saturday: The first-place trophy from the Big Eight Conference tournament at Madison East.

The Cardinals have won the conference tournament six of the past eight years, including two in a row after tallying 270 points to top Janesville Craig’s total of 235 and Middleton’s 160.

The Cardinals crowned only three individual champions, but took second place in six other weight classes to outdistance the Cougars.

The showcase match was a thriller in the 138-pound final that saw Sun Prairie junior Drew Scharenbrock take a 2-1 victory over Middleton sophomore Kevin Meicher.

It was the second time this season that Scharenbrock (37-2) has defeated Meicher (37-3). Scharenbrock finished fourth at 120 pounds in the WIAA Division 1 state tournament last year, and Meicher won the title at 126 pounds. Both won Big Eight titles at those weights in 2016.

Also for Sun Prairie, junior Wyatt Thiel (34-7) won at 113 pounds and senior Shijuan Robinson (31-10) took a 6-2 victory over Middleton junior Dion Huff (21-9) in the final at 182.

Madison La Follette was led by seniors Francesco and Salvatore Schiro. Francesco improved to 36-0 with a pin of Janesville Craig’s Stone Klingaman in the final at 120, and Salvatore (34-6) took a 5-1 win over Sun Prairie’s Will Van Pietersom at 170.

Francesco Schiro won the conference title at 106 last year, and Salvatore took second at 170.

Middleton senior Christopher Rogers (30-6) pinned Janesville Craig senior Nate Farrell (25-7) in 47 seconds to defend his Big Eight title at 132 pounds.

Verona senior Brandon Daniels (30-5) pinned Sun Prairie senior Zach Perrich (29-13) in 34 seconds to win the title at 145. Daniels won conference at 138 last year.

Janesville Parker senior Logan Murdy (33-2) won the final at 220 with a 6-3 decision over Sun Prairie’s Miguel Chestnut. Murdy won at 195 last year.

Madison Memorial earned its first individual Big Eight title since 2005 as sophomore Guillermo Tellez (8-1) defeated Beloit Memorial’s Daren Taber 2-1 in the final at 106. Tellez took second last year.

Capitol Conference

Host Lodi scored 364 points, almost double the 198.5 total of runner-up Belleville, to win its 25th consecutive conference team title.

The Blue Devils also crowned eight individual champs: Junior Jacob Harland (24-6) at 113 pounds, sophomore Garrett Moll (29-4) at 120, freshman Colton Nicolay (23-11) at 126, junior Branden Errthum (23-7) at 132, junior Max Barreau (26-7) at 160, junior Jacob Heyroth (28-3) at 170, senior Casey Persike (29-4) at 182 and senior J.P. Walterscheit (25-9) at 195.

Poynette senior Josh Prey improved to 27-0 and won the title at 152 pounds. Junior teammate Nick Koss (31-5) won at 285.

Marshall’s champions were junior Kale Grossman (38-5) at 106 and junior Justin Chadwick (34-4) at 220. Belleville’s lone champ was senior John Chenoweth (28-8) at 138. Lakeside Lutheran senior Clark Thiele (28-2) won at 145.

Rock Valley Conference

Evansville/Albany crowned five individual champions and scored 395.5 points to top runner-up Whitewater’s total of 297 in the 11-team meet in Evansville.

Senior Chase Katzenmeyer (26-1) won at 126 pounds for the Blue Devils, and was joined by junior Ben Barmore (15-6) at 138, junior Nolan Kicmol (25-1) at 145, senior Lucius Rinehart (27-0) at 195 and sophomore Branden Lange (29-10) at 285.

Edgerton freshman Cole Bavery (33-3) won at 113.


In the SWAL/Southwest Wisconsin Conference Clash in Richland Center, Fennimore scored 296 points to edge River Valley by four points. Mineral Point was third with 239 points.

For River Valley, senior Dustin Hatfield (9-0) won the title at 126 pounds, junior Zach Licht (9-0) won at 132 and senior Elijah Alt (9-0) won at 170.

For the Pointers, sophomore Danny Pittz (10-0) won at 106 and junior Riley Workman (9-1) won at 160. Dodgeville junior Shelby Jones (8-1) won the title at 285.

Trailways Conference

Host Johnson Creek earned two individual titles and scored 198 points to win the meet, followed by Horicon with 171.

Junior Weston Wichman (33-4) won the title at 138 pounds for the Bluejays, and junior Seth Roberts (23-3) won at 285.

Deerfield was led by senior 132-pounder Cal Hansen, who improved to 38-0 by pinning Horicon junior Bill Condon in 37 seconds in the final. Deerfield junior Zach Wilfong (26-13) won at 106 pounds.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.