The Stoughton wrestling team took its first step toward returning to state for the fourth straight season on Saturday afternoon.

A year after finishing as the runner-up at the WIAA Division 1 state team meet, the Vikings advanced wrestlers in all 14 weight classes to sectionals after claiming the DeForest regional title.

Garrett Model, the state champion at 138 last year, won at 145 pounds. Hunter Lewis (106), Dante Steinmetz (113), Tristan Jenny (120), Kaleb Louis (126), Brandon Klein (132), Tyler Dow (160) and Aodan Marshall (285) also brought home individual titles for Stoughton.

The Vikings will face Elkhorn in a sectional dual at 7 p.m. Tuesday in Elkhorn. The winner will advance to team state.

Individual sectional qualifiers will then compete Saturday at Janesville Craig.

Drew Scharenbrock (138) and Miguel Chestnut (220) won their weight classes for second-place Sun Prairie.

DeForest’s Jackson Hemauer, a state title winner at 160 last season, earned a tech fall win over Sun Prairie’s Shijuan Robinson at 182 to lead a group of seven Norskies that advanced.

Fort Atkinson qualified eight for sectionals, including Owen Worden, who won at 152.

Oregon’s Parker Ehn-Howland won at 170.

Westosha Central regional

Milton won six weight classes and advanced nine wrestlers to the Janesville Craig sectional after finishing in second place with 207 points, 23 behind team champion Elkhorn.

The Red Hawks’ winners were Dalton Shea at 113, Vince Digennaro (145), Nick Richards (160), defending state champion Billy Pitzner (182) and Jerry Lipke (195).

Janesville Craig qualified eight for sectionals, including Keeanu Benton, who won at 285 to improve to 34-3.

Logan Murdy improved to 36-2 with a 3-1 overtime decision over Elkhorn’s Richard Heidemann at 220 as four wrestlers advanced to sectionals for Janesville Parker.

Holmen regional

Dalton Hahn, the state-runner up at 195 last season, improved to 42-1 to lead a group of three Reedsburg wrestlers that earned individual titles in the eight-team regional.

Mason McMillen (120) and Trey Haugen (182) also won for the Beavers, who qualified six wrestlers for sectionals and finished in fourth place behind team champion Holmen.

Baraboo qualified eight wrestlers.

Division 2

Lodi regional

Lodi advanced wrestlers in 13 of 14 weight classes, including nine individual winners, to earn the team title with a score of 318.5 points, ahead of runner-up Jefferson’s 195.

Lodi received wins from Garrett Moll at 113 pounds, Colton Nicolay (120), Branden Errthum (132), Hunter Grams (145), Max Barreau (160), Jacob Heyroth (170), Casey Persike (182), J.P. Walterscheit (195) and Tyler Leonard (285).

The Blue Devils will face Evansville/Albany in a team sectional on Tuesday night in Edgerton and the individuals will compete in the Richland Center sectional Saturday.

Quinton Gehrmann (106), Dean Neff (138) and Jose Rios (152) won their weight classes for Jefferson, which advanced six in total.

Lake Mills’ Andrew Quackenbush won at 220.

River Valley regional

River Valley qualified 10 to cruise to the regional championship.

The Blackhawks received wins from Caleb Radtke at 120 pounds, Dustin Hatfield, who moved to 33-0, at 126, Zach Licht (132), Cayden Robson (138), Gavin Wipperfurth (145), Shane Liegel (160), Elijah Alt (170) and Tennessee Hatfield (285).

Max Olinger won at 220 for Mount Horeb.

Beloit Turner regional

Lucius Rinehart, a third-place finisher at state last season, won at 195 to remain unbeaten on the season and lead a group of five winners and seven sectional qualifiers for Evansville/Albany.

Evansville/Albany, which earned the team title with 237 points, also received wins from Chase Katzenmeyer (29-1) at 126, Nolan Kicmol (28-1) at 145, Tyler Schmidt (152) and Branden Lange (285).

Cole Murray (138), Sam Kind (160) and Dempzy Foley (170) won for Monroe.

Division 3

Marshall regional

Marshall qualified eight wrestlers to finish in second place behind Darlington/Black Hawk.

The Cardinals had five individual champs: Kale Grossman (106 pounds), Dylan Horstmeyer (145), Jakob Lewis (160), Walt Easley (170) and Justin Chadwick (220).

Deerfield’s Cal Hansen, a three-time state qualifier, lost his first match of the year due to an injury default.

Hansen pinned Waterloo’s Carlos Garcia in the second-place wrestleback to advance.

Markesan regional

Gwen Golueke at 106 pounds, Josh Prey (152), Joey Cibulka (170) and Nick Koss (285) each won to help Poynette to a second-place finish.


Wisconsin State Journal prep sports editor Art Kabelowsky has traversed the state to cover sports while working for daily papers in Fort Atkinson, Racine, La Crosse, Milwaukee and Baraboo.