John Cusack

John Cusack will present his 2000 film "High Fidelity" at the Orpheum Theater on May 5.

New/Updated shows

BRONCHO: Tuesday, April 24, 8 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $12 ($15 at the door) through high-noon.com.

CHEFS: A SIZZLING KITCHEN SHOWDOWN: Saturday, April 28, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $32.50 ($37.50 at the door) through barrymorelive.com.

JOHN CUSACK PRESENTS ‘HIGH FIDELITY’: Saturday, May 5, 7:30 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 201 State St. Tickets go on sale Friday through madisonorpheum.com.

BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB w/ Pete International Airport: Wednesday, May 16, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $25 through majesticmadison.com.

KATHLEEN MADIGAN: Thursday, Sept. 20, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $30 ($35 at the door) through barrymorelive.com and go on sale Friday.

Upcoming shows

MAT KEARNEY: Wednesday, March 7, 8 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets go on sale Friday through madisonorpheum.com.

THE MUSICAL BOX (GENESIS TRIBUTE): Thursday, March 8, 7 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets are $25 through orpheummadison.com.

TAYLOR BENNETT: Thursday, March 8, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $15 through majesticmadison.com.

ROBERT CRAY: Thursday, March 8, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $35 ($40 at the door) through barrymorelive.com.

ANDREA GIBSON w/ Chastity Brown: Friday, March 9, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $21 ($23 at the door) through barrymorelive.com.

GAELIC STORM: Sunday, March 11, 7 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets are $25 ($30 at the door) through barrymorelive.com.

GOLDEN DRAGON ACROBATS: Sunday, March 11, 2 p.m. Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets are on sale through madisonorpheum.com.

DECLAN MCKENNA: Sunday, March 11, 7:30 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $15 ($18 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

LIGHTS w/ Chase Atlantic & DCF: Tuesday, March 13, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $20 through majesticmadison.com.

TODD SNIDER: Wednesday, March 14, 7:30 p.m., Stoughton Opera House, 381 E. Main St., Stoughton. Tickets are $27 through stoughtonoperahouse.com.

BRETT DENNEN: Wednesday, March 14, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $25 through majesticmadison.com.

ALICE COOPER: Wednesday, March 14, 8 p.m., Orpheum Theatre, 201 State St. Tickets are $50-$60 through madisonorpheum.com.

TITUS ANDRONICUS: Wednesday, March 16, 9 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. This show is sold out.

CRY CRY CRY: Saturday, March 17, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $37.50 through barrymorelive.com.

S. CAREY: Tuesday, March 20, 8 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $15 through high-noon.com.

BRAIN CANDY LIVE!: Thursday, March 22, Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $45-$145 and go on sale Friday through overture.org.

PUDDLES PITY PARTY: Thursday, March 22, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $35 ($37.50 at the door) through barrymorelive.com.

EARTH, WIND & FIRE: Saturday, March 24, 8 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $60-$127.50 through overture.org.

STEVE EARLE & THE DUKES: Sunday, March 25, 7 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $42.50-$62.50 through barrymorelive.com.

BONES: Sunday, March 25, 8 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $12 ($15 at the door) through high-noon.com.

CIRQUE D’OR: Tuesday, March 27, 7 p.m., Capitol Theater, 201 State St. Tickets are $26-$58 through overture.org.

CAROLYN WONDERLAND: Wednesday, March 28, 8 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $12 ($14 at the door) through high-noon.com.

JOHN HIATT & THE GONERS FEATURING SONNY LANDRETH: Thursday, March 29, 7:30 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. This show is sold out.

COMMON DEER: Tuesday, April 3, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $8 ($10 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

LUCY DACUS w/ The Kids: Thursday, April 5, 8 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $15 through high-noon.com.

VUNDAMAR: Thursday, April 5, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $10 ($12 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

YUNG GRAVY: Thursday, April 5, 10 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $15 through majesticmadison.com.

ADAM CAROLLA: Friday, April 6, 8 p.m., Capitol Theater, 201 State St. Tickets are $40-$50 through overture.org.

THE DAVID BROMBERG QUINTET w/ JOHN SEBASTIAN: Friday, April 13, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $45 through barrymorelive.com. This show was rescheduled from its original date on Oct. 13.

HOUNDMOUTH: Sunday, April 15, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $25 through majesticmadison.com.

MICHAEL WOLFF: Wednesday, April 18, 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 18, 7:30 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $35-$80 through overture.org.

PHOEBE BRIDGERS: Thursday, April 19, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $10 ($12 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

TECH N9NE: Friday, April 20, 8 p.m. Orpheum Theater, 201 State St. Tickets are $25 ($30 at the door) through madisonorpheum.com.

BILL MAHER: Sunday, April 22, 7 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets are $50 to $100 through madisonorpheum.com.

SMOOTH HOUND SMITH w/ FORLORN STRANGERS: Thursday, April 26, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $10 ($12 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

SMOOTH HOUND SMITH w/ Forlorn Strangers: Thursday, April 26, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $12 ($15 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

LIZA ANNE: Friday, April 27, 9:30 p.m., High Noon Saloon, 701 E. Washington Ave. Tickets are $10 ($12 at the door) through high-noon.com.

JIM JEFFERIES: Thursday, April 28, 8 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $40-$50 through overture.org.

MISTERWIVES w/ Flor and Flint Eastwood: Saturday, April 28, 9 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $27.50 ($30 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

THE BREVET: Wednesday, May 2, 8 p.m., The Frequency, 121 W. Main St. Tickets are $10 ($12 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

CHRIS TRAPPER: Thursday, May 3, 7:30 p.m., Crescendo Espresso Bar, 1859 Monroe St. Tickets are $15 ($20 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

HALF WAIF w/ HOVVDY: Friday, May 4, The Frequency, 121 W. Main ST. Tickets are $12 ($15 at the door) through madisonfrequency.com.

PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT: Saturday, May 5, 9 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $27.50 ($30 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

HOME FREE: Sunday, May 6, 3 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets go on sale Friday through madisonorpheum.com.

BRIT FLOYD: Monday, May 7, 7:30 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $38.50 to $48.50 through overture.org.

HAR MAR SUPERSTAR: Friday, May 11, 9 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $15 through majesticmadison.com.

JAY PHAROAH: Saturday, May 12, 8 p.m., Barrymore Theatre, 2090 Atwood Ave. Tickets are $32.50 through barrymorelive.com.

THE STRUTS: Monday, May 14, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $22.50 ($25 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

STONE SOUR w/ The Bronx & ’68: Tuesday, May 15, 8 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. Tickets go on sale Friday through madisonorpheum.com.

DAVID BYRNE: Wednesday, May 16, 8 p.m., Orpheum Theater, 216 State St. This show is sold out.

QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE w/ Royal Blood: Tuesday, May 22, 6:30 p.m., Breese Stevens Field, 917 E. Mifflin St. Tickets are $40-$60 through breesestevensfield.com.

HERE COMES THE MUMMIES: Thursday, May 24, 8:30 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $25 through majesticmadison.com.

HARRY POTTER & THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS w/ the Madison Symphony Orchestra: Saturday, June 16, 8 p.m. and Sunday, June 17, 1 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets go on sale Friday, Feb. 2 through overture.org.

THE TEMPTATIONS: Thursday, June 14, 8 p.m., Shannon Hall, 800 University Ave. Tickets are $55 through uniontheater.wisc.edu.

REUNION BLUES w/ Boz Scaggs, Ben Sidran and Tracy Nelson: Friday, June 15, 8 p.m., Shannon Hall, 800 University Ave. Tickets are $45 through uniontheater.wisc.edu.

STEELY DAN w/ The Doobie Brothers: Saturday, June 16, 6:30 p.m., Breese Stevens Field, 907 E. Mifflin St. Tickets are $65-$200 through ticketmaster.com.

NICK SWARDSON: Sunday, June 24, 7 p.m., Capitol Theater, 201 State St. Tickets are $40 through overture.org.

YANNI: Tuesday, June 26, 8 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $35-$90 through overture.org.

RAY LAMONTAGNE w/ Neko Case: Friday, July 6, 7:30 p.m., Breese Stevens Field, 917 E. Mifflin St. Tickets are $35-$75 through ticketmaster.com.

TAJMO: THE TAJ MAHAL AND KEB’ MO’ BAND, Wednesday, Aug. 8, 7:30 p.m., Overture Hall, 201 State St. Tickets are $45-$85 through overture.org.

METALLICA: Sunday, Sept. 2, 7:30 p.m., Kohl Center, 601 W. Dayton St. Tickets are $65-$135 through livenation.com.

JAPANESE BREAKFAST: Sunday, Sept. 16, 8 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $15 through majesticmadison.com.

BELLY: Thursday, Oct. 4, 8:30 p.m., Majestic Theatre, 115 King St. Tickets are $25 ($27 at the door) through majesticmadison.com.

Rob Thomas is the features editor and social media editor for the Capital Times, as well as its film critic. He joined the Cap Times in 1999 and has written about movies, music, food and books.