Try 1 month for 99¢

Sun Prairie’s Eric Nee was selected as Big Eight Conference athletic director of the year, it was announced Wednesday.

This is the second consecutive year Nee has been recognized with this honor.

Nominations were taken from the group of Big Eight athletic directors and the vote was conducted at the group’s March meeting, Madison Memorial athletic director Jeremy Schlitz said.

Nee now will be put forward as a candidate to be WIAA District 5 athletic director of the year at April’s WIAA District 5 athletic directors meeting.

Nee was recognized for his work done for the good of the sport and profession, running a solid athletic program and the overall success of Sun Prairie athletics, Schlitz said.

Verona’s Mark Kryka won Big Eight athletic director of the year in 2016 and eventually won state athletic director of the year at the Wisconsin Athletic Directors Association meeting.

Schlitz won Big Eight athletic director of the year in 2015.


Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.