Try 1 month for 99¢

Milton’s Mia Seeman and Middleton’s Payton Hodson were named first-team all-state on the 2017 Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin girls all-state team.

Seeman was the WIAA Division 1 state tournament champion, while Hodson finished tied for fifth.

Abby Cavaiani, from Kettle Moraine High School in Wales, was selected as player of the year. Her season included a round of 60 at the Classic 8 Conference tournament, a round that was believed to be the lowest round in state history for girls golf. She was second at Division 1 state.

Taylor Hakala of Milton was named to the second team and Verona’s Lauren Shorter was chosen for the third team.

Several area players also received honorable-mention recognition: Sophia Dooman, Janesville Parker; Lillian Knetter, Madison West; Kallie Lux, Janesville Craig; Andi McCorkle, Oregon; Kate Meier, Middleton; Klairissa O'Reilly-Dye, Monona Grove; Grace Peterson, Middleton; Courtney Shorter, Verona; Sam Soulier, Waunakee; and Grace Welch, Madison Edgewood. 

2017 Golf Coaches Association of Wisconsin Girls All-State Team


First Team All State

Emily Balding – Brookfield Central

Jo Baranczyk – Bay Port

Abby Cavaiani** – Wales Kettle Moraine (Player of the Year)

Payton Hodson – Middleton

Speedy Kent – Mequon Homestead

Emily Lauterbach – Hartland Arrowhead

Mia Seeman – Milton

**Player of the Year

Second Team All State

Sarah Ernst – Hartland Arrowhead

Taylor Hakala – Milton

Isabelle Maleki – Mequon Homestead

Lorenza Martinez – Milwaukee Divine Savior Holy Angels

Courtney Matschke – Franklin

Lexi Meade – Eau Claire Memorial

Erika Priebe – Fox Valley Lutheran

Third Team All State

Annie Balduzzi – La Crosse Aquinas

Erin Ericson – Onalaska

Gianna Gastrow – Hartland Arrowhead

Kate Munro – Racine Prairie School

Holly Murphy – Lake Geneva Badger

Lexi Romero – Brookfield Central

Lauren Shorter – Verona

Honorable Mention All State

Savanna Anderson – Stanley-Boyd

Markie Ash – Waupaca

Jackie Bianchi – Union Grove

Sydney Brandt – Waukesha Catholic Memorial

Sydney Brown – Eau Claire North

Bailee Bussan – Cuba City

Sophia Dooman – Janesville Parker

Elise Hoven – Cedarburg

Bonnie Jin – Brookfield Central

Rachel Kauflin – Wauwatosa

Lillian Knetter – Madison West

Brooke Knutson – Viroqua

Megan Koch – Union Grove

Madeline Koenig – Wales Kettle Moraine

Ashley Lawler – Racine St. Catherine’s

Kirsten Leonardi – Sussex Hamilton

Kallie Lux – Janesville Craig

Andi McCorkle – Oregon

Kate Meier – Middleton

Emily Neff – Hayward

Klairissa O’Reilly-Dye – Monona Grove

Grace Peterson – Middleton

Skyler Phillips – Hartland Arrowhead

Hannah Schulz – Mukwonago

Courtney Shorter – Verona

Sam Soulier – Waunakee

Sydney Steinmetz – Oshkosh West

Sophia Sun – Brookfield Central

Mallory Swartz – Franklin

Aubrie Torhorst – Waterford

Grace Welch – Madison Edgewood

Emma Whitfield – Brookfield Central


Jon Masson covers high school sports for the Wisconsin State Journal. He has covered a variety of sports — including the Green Bay Packers and Wisconsin men's and women's basketball and volleyball — since he first came to the State Journal in 1999.